The Acropolis of Limenas stands dominantly on top of a natural hill that was right for good fortification, in the highest point of the city. It is located at a height of about 140 meters above the sea level. It is surrounded by really remarkable Cyclopean walls, made from Thassos marble, causing awe because of the volume of the marble used as material and also because of the subtle art of fitting the blocks together.
The view to the sea is breathtaking. The entire Acropolis was built out of white marble, and the treasures of the city and the Treasury were kept there. In the Middle Ages the Acropolis went trough repairs and arrangements by the Byzantines, the Venetians and the Genoese.
Nowadays the retaining walls are saved, and also parts of the wall and marble pieces, which were later used for the construction of other buildings. Two towers and a water tank are also preserved.
In the eastern part of the Acropolis there was a sanctuary, and during the excavations of 1920 a Kriophoros Kouros (ram-bearing boy) was found built-in into the eastern wall. By happy coincidence the statue was left unfinished by the sculptor, probably because the material had cracks. It was then used as a building material for the wall, and thus the archaeological excavations brought to light this unique find of 3.50m height, with a similar one only existing in Naxos and Athens. Its construction dates back to the 7th century BC.
In the south of the Acropolis, touching the wall, there is the shrine of the patron goddess Athena, which belongs to the 6th century BC, and protected the military town as Athena Kastritissa. Today only the foundations and the retaining walls of the building are preserved.