A road 4 kilometers long starts from Prinos and leads to two old, picturesque villages built on a mountainside, with amazing natural position and view and wonderfully verdant, Megalo (big) and Mikro (small) Kazaviti.
With rich architectural tradition, the stone built houses with the wooden balconies enchant the visitor. They follow on the heels of the macedonian type of architecture that is characteristic of the old villages and churches of Thassos (like for example the village of Panagia), which was applied by skilled craftsmen from Epirus. Many of these houses, abandoned by the locals, were bought from foreigners, mostly Germans and were renovated.
Megalo Kazaviti, with a history from at least the 4th century BC, as evidenced by ancient ceramic finds, was met with high growth. The remnants of old manor houses and the beautiful churches are a proof of that. Old-growth plane trees and springs of clear water can be found in the village square. Coffee houses and taverns are developed all around the square, and offer traditional spit-roasted goat and other local delicacies, in a cool, heavenly environment.
The name Kazaviti, of latin origin, means probably “house with a grapevine” (casa = house, vitis = grapevine), and this shows that the area was rich in grapes and produced fine wine. It is not a coincidence that a shop for making wine amphorae was discovered, belonging to the 4th century BC.
The modern settlement appears to have been founded in the 16th century AD, when the mountain villages of Thassos were created due to fear of piracy, and completed in the 19th century, as revealed by the oldest testimonies coming from house inscriptions dating from 1806.
An old mountain trail and a modern small highway lead from Kazavitia to the beautiful monastery of Saint Pantaleon. Any hikers that decide to follow the trail, will be rewarded handsomely with a crystal clear torrent with the small waterfalls they will meet on their way, and the view from above, that truly is awe-inspiring.